The Old Mutual Foundation has presented a list of 40 shortlisted candidates for the Old Mutual Sustainable, Economic, and Empowerment Drive (OM SEED) Entrepreneurship Programme, which is currently in its third edition.

This initiative maintains its objective to promote entrepreneurship, accelerate economic growth, and address the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in Namibia in collaboration with its partners, Basecamp and the Financial Literacy Initiative (FLI).

OM SEED was launched in 2022 and has reached six regions to date. This year’s focus is the Ohangwena, Oshikoto, Zambezi, and Kavango West regions whereas in 2025, OM SEED will reach out to entrepreneurs in Kunene, Omaheke, Omusati and Otjozondjupa – covering a total of 14 regions in three years.

Since its founding, OM SEED has played a significant role in fostering grassroots entrepreneurship by giving small business owners access to funding, incubator and mentorship support and is dedicated to creating a robust and welcoming entrepreneurial environment in Namibia.

Patricia Olivier, Old Mutual Foundation Chairperson and Managing Director of Corporate Segment stated, “We are thrilled to announce the top 40 shortlisted candidates for the 2024 OM SEED Initiative.

“The expansion of this initiative into new regions marks a significant step in our mission to support local entrepreneurs nationwide.

“By providing them with the necessary resources and recognition, we are driving economic growth, enhancing community resilience, and contributing to the country’s Sustainable Development Goals.”

Olivier stated that the selection process for the programme is rigorous, involving comprehensive evaluations and on-site visits to the businesses of the ten shortlisted entrepreneurs in each town.

These visits, scheduled for June 2024, will culminate in the identification of the top three candidates in each town who will receive financial support and incubation assistance.

The 40 small entrepreneurs who were selected to go to the next round of rigorous evaluations are: Zambezi Region,

Kamwi Musweu

Masule Brendan Nchindo

Thaddius Masule

Shepherd Nyombe

Georgina Nankole Likukela

Joseph Moowa Kalokela

Rhonel Libana

Mercy Kachaka Kachaka

Zecks Musiyena Linosi

Beaven Simasiku Mulijani

Kavango West Region,

Salomi Vilkuna Kambala

Ester Wayivhwa Haita

McDonald Matheus Naughulu

Januarius Hamutenya

Anselm Matamu

Josephine Kapango

Frans Kaunda

Johannes Sheya

Lina Luizi

Daniel Kandjimi

Ohangwena Region,

Peneyambeko Kashimba

Niingo Martha Nghishindwa

Alma Naitsuwe Kayofa

Steve-Biko Nghiwewelekwa

Elizabeth Povanhu

Velasia David

Festus Elago

Juso Mwandingi

Ndapunikwa Justina Weyulu

Ester Magano Hango

Oshikoto Region,

Theohill Veldtschoen

Twafeni Letisiya Jona

Vilho Linekela Mushelenge

Maria Shangula

Robert Natangwe Johannes

Clemens Mupili

Alexa Burmeu

Theodor Shithigona

Ella Nghifindaka

Johannes Hilukilwa.

Three winners will be chosen from each of the four regions; the first award will be worth N$50 000, the second prize N$30 000, and the third prize N$20 000.

These grants will serve as catalysts, empowering the winners to scale their businesses, create more employment opportunities, and significantly contribute to Namibia’s economic growth and development.

In the photo: Some of the previous year’s OM SEED winners.